TEDDY’S TOUR de FRANCE SWEATER

I really enjoyed knitting this little YELLOW sweater as my bit of a TOUR DE FRANCE novelty!
SAM_2503
If you want to make one, below are the instructions  I found in amongst some very old dolly/teddy knitted clothes patterns that were originally from my grandma. She used to make clothes for our  toys when we were   little girls,  and very likely our mum too!

This is the wool I used:-
SAM_2342
The style is classic raglan, I use the smallest size… before the brackets.
I didn’t bother with knitting a rib at the neck as the teddy has quite a large head and I was worried I would not be able to get it on him! If you want to add a ribbed neck, cast of approx 50 sts, k1, p1 rib for about 1/2 inch and stitch on after making up the sweater.
SAM_2510
BACK

Using number 11 needles cast on 49(53, 57) sts and work in k1, p1 rib for approx 1/2(3/4, 1)inch
Change to number 10 needles and proceed in st.st until work measures approx 2(2 1/2, 3)inches ending on p row.
Shape raglans @cast off sts at beg of next 4 rows.
Next row k1, k2tog t/l, k to last 3 sts, k2tog, k1
Next row p
Rep these 2 rows until @*19(21, 23) sts remain
Cast off

FRONT
As per back until *leave 21(23,25)
Cast off

SLEEVE
Using number 11 needles cast on 20(22,24) sts and work 1k, 1p rib for approx 1/2 inch
Change to number 10 needles and proceed in st.st inc 1 st at each end of 1st sts and every following 3rd(4th, 5th) row until 32(34, 36) sts are on needle
Continue without further shaping until work measures approx 2 1/2(3, 3 1/2) inches ending on a p row
Shape raglans follow back from @ to @ 2 sts remain, cast off

TO MAKE UP
Sew raglan back and front to raglan sleeve on both sides, sew sides to arm pit continue down sleeve. If you feel you need to, lightly steam press.

SAM_2504

My finished sweater measures approx 6 inches from neck to bottom of  body rib, sleeve approx  6 1/2 inches from tip of raglan to sleeve cuff rib.

ABBREVIATIONS
k = knit, p = purl, st(sts) stitch(stitches) tog = together, inc = increase, dec = decrease, beg = beginning, st.st stocking stitch, rep = repeat, tbl = through the back of loop

I hope you will be able to understand these instructions, I have copied them exactly as they were on the original pattern, I even got my husband to check I haven’t made any errors!!

Best wishes, Jay X

I would be delighted to hear from you if you fancy leaving a comment, if you want to, just skip past the email bit and go straight to “post comment” …. thanks!

Little extra snippet for you from Soo “A gold fish has a memory span of just three seconds”

2 thoughts on “TEDDY’S TOUR de FRANCE SWEATER

  1. I assume from this that you watch the Tour de France. I am an avid follower of the race and stay up till all hours here when it is on. I do get lots of knitting done when the race is on. I love the beautiful pictures of the countryside and this year I am hoping the Orica Green Edge does really well. My favourite is Simon Gerrans.

  2. I have just read your previous post about the Tour de France starting in Yorkshire. I spent some time in Yorkshire in 2012. We loved it there and hope to get back some time next year.
    You are so lucky the Tour goes through your village. What an experience.

Leave a Reply

