CHENILLE

I love most craft, my favourites are those that include fabric, especially quilting. However a friend of mine introduced me to CHENILLE!  I really  like the texture and fluffy comfortable feel it gives to quite ordinary fabric.  So, thought I would have a go!

My first project.

SAM_2565

There are a few things to you need to consider  if you fancy having a go.

*Use natural fibre fabric such as loose woven cotton, fine calico, muslin, cheese cloth, woven gingham, silk, linen, linen blends…

*Soft finishing fabric with linen, cotton  and silk,  light tartan/plaids work well.

*Great  way to blend certain colours to achieve a colour mix like a paint box (e.g. yellow and blue to make green).

*Try to avoid man made fabric such as polyester, nylon, polyester sheeting, crimplene. These fabrics will not “bloom” very well.

*Super  for using up fabric in your stash…

*Chenilled fabric is great to make bags and cushions as it is thick, substantial and soft.

*On the down side, it takes a lot of fabric and thread, but this can be a plus too if you want to use up some “ordinary” fabric!

As well as your fabric you will need to invest in a “slash cutter”.   This one is from CLOVER who tend to be a bit pricy, at about £12, but I am sure there are others more reasonable on the market if you do a little research.

SAM_2547

Or… a pair of scissors, however be very careful which type you use.  AVOID ones with pointy blade tips, one thing you do not want to do is accidentally snip/cut the bottom fabric other wise you will have a chenille disaster!  Look out for a pair with a rounded-bull nose blades.

SAM_2546

Also  thread.  I found that any thread will do,  a chenille project uses lots of thread a cheap bumper value reel will be absolutely fine.  I bought this one for a bout a £1 on the market.  Also prepped  up several bobbins of the same thread ready to load into the  machine.  I found a 50cm x 50cm project uses a little less than three full bobbins (bottom thread)  to do the diagonal rows of stitching.

SAM_2529

Heres how you make it:-

Choose your fabric.  I decided to go with same colours but slightly different woven checks and stripe.  To make a cushion cover to fit either 16 inch x 16 inch or 18 inch x 18 inch  you will need four (UK) fat 1/4’s (approx 20 inch x 20 inch)

SAM_2456

You will need four layers of fabric, either different colours, different textures or same fabric.  Decide on which order you want your fabric, the top fabric will be the prominent colour.  Layer the fabrics exactly on top of each other in a neat pile.  Have the bottom fabric slightly larger than the other three by approx 1 inch.  You will see why later.

SAM_2457

Pin them together, through all layers.

SAM_2458

You may feel more confident to mark* out the lines diagonally across the top fabric. However if you have a 1/4 inch seam foot attachment on you sewing machine  use this.   I found it easier than marking every line.  Draw the first one, then line up the 1/4 inch foot up to the seam, machine  right to the very corner.  Alternatively, use your judgement to space and sew the rows of stitches!   Naturally the seams will get shorter and shorter until the whole price is stitched, but remember to keep checking the 1/4 inch space between stitched rows.

SAM_2548

*NOTE:- If you mark, use a chalk marker, an air erasable marker (see makers instruction to see exactly how long you get before your markings disappear!) or water erasable marker (remember DO NOT USE A DETERGENT in the water when you want to get markings out of your fabric…detergent will fix in the markings…. use clean clear water only)

SAM_2549

Complete machining the complete area  right until you reach the tiny corners with  only  a few stitches to each row.

SAM_2550

With the guide on your cutter, slip the end under the three layers, hold the edge of the piece and run across the fabric which will cut a nice even “slice”.   You will realise now why the bottom fabric needs to be slightly larger it will help you NOT TO CUT ALL LAYERS which would be  terribly frustrating! Keep holding down the bottom layer as you slice each time your slash/slice.  I suggest you don’t attempt to tidy up any threads at this stage, tidy later…

Continue until you have “sliced” between every seam.

SAM_2552

Or slip the  tips of the scissors in-between the stitched  tram lines and gently snip along the centre of every tram line, holding down the bottom layer as you go.

SAM_2553

Check each cut to make sure you have cut/sliced all three layers.

SAM_2555

In a bowl of warm water immerse the piece and quite roughly wriggle about in the water.  If there are lots of tiny lengths of fibre in the water thats great… it means you will have a good result in the end!  I put a little soap in the  water BUT I DID NOT USE A MARKER PEN, I relied on the 1/4 inch seam foot on my machine.

Ring out the  piece and squeeze as much water as possible out of the piece.

SAM_2556

In the tumble dryer pop in an old towel (this will collect a lot of the bits to avoid clogging the filter on your dryer) with your piece and tumble until it is completely dry.

SAM_2558

Take out of the dryer and see your  “BLOOMED” piece of chenille!!!  WONDERFULL!!!  Now, what do you fancy making?  I decided to make a cushion.  As the chenille fabric is thick and substantial I wanted to have a nice substantial finished so decided to pipe my cushion.  This is how I did it.

SAM_2557

With one of the fabric’s I had left over from my piece, I covered normal white piping cord making sure it had a flange approx 1/2 inch.  Tack cord in place.

 

As I had a 16 inch x 16 inch cushion pad I decided to make my cushion this size.  Measure and pin piping cord in place on right side of chenille (with rounded piping cord facing inwards…. fabric flange facing out)  pin and tack into place, check you have a 16 inch x 16 inch (or what ever size your cushion pad is) square of piping in place.  Machine close to the cord.  You may have a cording  or zipper foot in with your sewing machine accessories either will work well.  If you do not have one of these, you can still use your standard  foot, but be careful you do not sew  over the  cord, or too far away either.  You need the cord to be “snug” in place.

SAM_2559

Looks a bit tatty, but you will have flange edges inside the finished cushion cover.

SAM_2567

From the other fabric you will need to make a backing for your cover.  I made this in two halves, stitched a strip of velco as my preferred cover  closure.  You could insert a zip or close with buttons and button holes, ties, or even a large generous flap “envelope” style without any fastenings.  I  had two different fabrics left over so used a little of both… I quite like using up what ever is left in any project, also makes if unique and individual!!

 

With right sides together pin and tack two halves together.  I recommend you tack as well as pin at this stage as you want to keep piping “snug” and avoid too much movement of the covered cord. Machine around close to the piping. I decided to machine around twice and also zig-zag  too!  Now you can trim off all those tatty  edges to cut down on the edge “bulk”  careful not to snip machined stitches.

SAM_2570

Turn inside out and gently pull out corners and ease out side so piping is clearly visible on the edge of cover.  Pop in cushion pad, wiggle it around to make sure it is evenly inside cover.

SAM_2563

What do you thing?  … my finished cushion… good?

SAM_2561

Same type of fabric collection just a different colour way… this is really snuggly!

SAM_2560

Works well with neutral colours too!

SAM_2562

Why not change the shape of your cushion too!

SAM_2459

Or add a “shadow” shape … just cut a shape (heart) out of a complete contrast colour and slip it under the top layer.  Then continue in the way I have described  in my tutorial… easy and very effective.

SAM_2571

I have chenilled both sides of some cushions, however  pipped all of them as I think it looks better to have a strong edge between chenille and back cover.

I will be popping the green and pink cushion covers on my etsy shop soon if you fancy buying either https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/TheSewingWren

My daughter wants the red heart, and the neutral ones are living on the sofa!

Best wishes, keep crafting!

Jay x

I would be delighted to hear from you, so please leave me a comment, whizz past the email section and go straight to “submit comment” will be good to hear what you think.  Jx

My extra snippet for you from Soo   “A full moon always rises at sunset”

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “CHENILLE

  1. What wonderfully detailed instructions on how to make a chenille cushion. Your instructions and illustrations make it very easy to follow. I haven’t seen a slash cutter before, a very handy tool if you were make lots of chenille. I used scissors when I made my cushion and my thumb got a bit sore with all the cutting, arthritic :-(.

  2. Hi J… Thank you for looking around my blog and better still letting me know you have been there. Unfortunately you are a ‘norepy’ blogger so I can’t email you directly, but thanks again for popping in. I have in the passed made Chenille and still use the bag made from it, but as you say needs quite a bit of fabric and time to sew them all together, but must be worth a try for all. Jo

  3. Very effective, once again a great blog, easy to follow instructions, I am not surprised your daughter wanted the heart shaped one. I liked the neutral shades myself. Georgie

Leave a Reply

