HAND MADE DIARY’S FOR OMG

item for OMG made by Snoo!

She has up cycled all the ingredients for this project from the  paper, card, fabric and cord, she had hanging around the place.   I think it is what crafting things for OMG is all about.  Making the maximum clear profit for the minimum cost (not counting the time projects take to make…. which is is priceless, however given freely… with love!) It it a perfect combination, often  using up “waste” items, or “stuff” that you have either forgotten you have, or bought ages ago that you know you will never use!  Plus, a whole lot of pure satisfaction knowing that some one might buy an OMG item because it is useful, or just what they needed….  Then the ultimate, the money goes to a G-R-E-A-T  and worthy cause…. IT’S WIN WIN!

So, little diary’s, ready  for you to decorate however you jolly well please!  Keep scrolling…

SAM_2831

Now, they may not look very thrilling, but “bear with” I will explain what “THE SNOO” vision is for you on this latest project… I will add that I wanted to get in on the act, so the photo’s, pen’s, ribbons, felt and frilly bits are my take… so don’t go blaming her for the teensy bit weird ideas!

SAM_2832

First page… I just love this page, it says it all really doesn’t it?  Decided to launch this diary now, so children would  have  a great little project to do for Mum, Granny, Aunty…… if there is a rainy day during the summer when they are board.  Super thought also to have a gift already to give. Grandma’s especially I think just love the things children make.  I have things my daughter made,  they are  still as precious as any rare diamond to me.

SAM_2837

Like any good dairy you will have a yearly planner as a quick reference to dates, days of the week and being able to “pencil-in” odd dates when you need to see the whole year all at once.

SAM_2836

Next you have the section of the diary with two pages forming each week for the whole month, plus a little NOTE section.  Each month is set out the same, just so happened that I flicked through and July came open.

SAM_2838

Beautifully put!

SAM_2844

THE FOLLOWING ARE  MY  IDEA SAMPLES, SUGGESTIONS HOW YOU COULD DECORATE YOUR OWN BLANK OMG DIARY. THE BLANKS DIARY’S ARE AVAILABLE FROM OXFAM SKIPTON…. I talk about OMG later at the end of the blog.

As the covering on the spine is a little swatch of fabric, I hit on the idea of getting out Sharpies (or similar) and colour some of the “blanks in” Ummm….?   Black and white checked gingham … now let me think?  The first diary as an example,  I decided I would go down the Black-Red-White theme on this SAMPLE as these colours do look a bit smart together.

SAM_2839

Second diary SAMPLE…. lots of colours!

SAM_2863

Okay, now I have finished my colouring in, (really enjoyed playing with this simple idea) what do I do with the “ordinary” cardboard look…? You could leave it as it is if you wanted to go for a natural/neutral theme, or cover the whole area.   Decided to start with the back ground cover of white.  I painted one diary  with normal white ready mixed paint (cheap at 99p, I had some in the craft cupboard) the other I  covered with paper, which was really easy using double sided tape….Done!

SAM_2842

I collected a few bits and bobs together for the  Black-White-Red colour scheme for this diary.

SAM_2843

Cut out a few too many hearts from felt, selected a few!

SAM_2886

Stuck them on the front cover, added a little bit of red ribbon with hearts on,  got the Sharpies out for the dots. FINISHED THIS ONE!

SAM_2864For the next SAMPLE  diary I thought I’d cut our a few pictures from an old magazine.  It is a good idea to place them on the cover, arrange, and re-arrange before sticking them into place.  Believe it or not, just these few little snippets from a magazine changed their position several times before I was happy, then I got the glue out and stuck then into place.

SAM_2885

Once all my little pic’s were stuck down and the glue had dried, I drew free-hand  around each picture with a black ink pen these little “mock” picture frames…  I also added a funky little piece of ric-rac to tidy up the edge between cover and fabric spine.

You can add what ever you like to your cover, almost any thing would be fun.  Here is a list of ideas for you:-

Sparkles, glitter, stick on mock rhinestones

Felt shapes, scraps of fabric, ribbons, ric-rac, braids

Family photos

Pictures of pop stars, film stars, football players, sporting events (Hey… plug for Le Tour de France!)

Hand drawn pictures

Crazy paving style over lapping pictures from magazines

News paper fonts stuck down all higgledy piggledy

Crayons,  felt pen  squiggles

Trace a favourite picture

Paint a bunch of flowers or landscape

Personalise it for a special person with their hobby or favourite things

….. the list is endless… let your imagination flow….

Lastly, I popped each diary in a clean cellophane pouch, added one of my hand stamped OMG stickers to the back.

SAM_2887

If you want to buy a blank diary they are on the OMG shelf in OXFAM in Skipton, North Yorkshire.  I left the final price to the manager as she knows best how they might or might not sell… I am keeping my fingers crossed that they do sell!

Click onto  to  http://www.oxfam.org.uk/fashion-blog/2013/10/oxfam-skipton-omg-oxfam-makers-groupfind out about OMG if you are wondering what I have been wittering about if you are new to my blog.

Thank you for visiting me, have really enjoyed this blog subject, if you have too, please leave me a comment…  I would love to pass on your thoughts to Snoo THANK YOU!

I will be back soon with what ever pops into my head next!

Jay, X

My little extra snippet for you from Snoo “You are more likely to be killed by a flying champagne cork than a spider”

 

 

 

 

One thought on “HAND MADE DIARY’S FOR OMG

  1. Yes. We see more flying corks than spiders here.
    Love the blank diaries you made. A constructive way to help out others less fortunate.

Leave a Reply

