WHO ARE THEY?

We have been on holiday so I have been away from my blog pages… have you missed me?

I have a love of old photographs, especially black and white ones of our family members.  Those special people who have made us who we are,  and that are now long gone, however  their faces and smiles are kept forever in precious pictures.

I am constantly looking for old photo frames in junk and second hand shops, often pop along to the local auction house to see if there are any goodies, while there hunt for frames too.

Recently I bought two lovely and unusual frames.  A beautiful thick oval hand carved one, and a hexagonal one.  Each frame had a photo in which I had intended to take out and replace with a family picture.  As I polished the frame, washed the glass and got my photo’s ready to insert, I glanced at the little faces I had just removed… I just couldn’t do it!   I put the strangers back in the frames and have kept them exactly as they were when I bought them.

SAM_3019

I have no idea who this little lad is, there is no name or date on the back, but I am guessing he is about 4 or 5 years old  The photo is very old and by the thick card it is printed on and the style of his clothes I would think it was taken a long time ago… maybe Victorian?   Do you recognise him? I kinda love him, his cheeky chubby little smiling face make me happy I decided to keep him just as he is.  This photo is in the large oval carved frame, he hangs on the wall in the study.

SAM_3025

Who is this little girl? Again nothing to identify her, no  name or date the photo to know when it was taken.  She is about 5, maybe 6 years old, looking at her pretty little dress, should think it might have been her Sunday best!  Again I think possibly Victorian?  This photo is on my side board with photos of my daughter and nephews as little children, she fits in perfectly with our family group.

SAM_3023

Now, this photo has a different story.  We have recently found a big cabinet of family papers and photo’s that belonged to my husbands family tucked away undisturbed for many many years.  We have gone through the stash of  truly lovely old photos and memoirs  (I got really tearful and sentimental over the letters written by children to parents while at boarding school… lovely little snippets of news   “I was very lucky today as I found a penny in my belongings that I thought I has misplaced….”   Anyway, my husband identified all the photo’s except this little lad.  Who is he we wonder?  He might be about 6 or 7 years old?, and we are guessing the photo was taken between 1930’s and 1940’s.  I haven’t got a frame for him yet, it is quite a small photo, so will be on the hunt  for one.

SAM_3027

This group photo was also found amongst the family archives… We got the magnifying glass out to study the faces but none are family.  We think it is a boy scout outing, have identified where it was taken.  The roundabout cenotaph in front of the church in Skipton, North Yorkshire, in the1940’s?

Thanks for dropping by, please leave me a message. I would be thrilled to bits to hear from you, especially if you recognise any of these lovely faces!

Best wishes, Jay x

My little extra snippet for you from Snoo “When nobody is about  47% of people drink straight from the carton out of the fridge”    …. naughty eh!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “WHO ARE THEY?

  1. Hi, thanks for your comment. Yes I agree with you, photos are treasures and should be kept, in my small way, I am keeping these few safe for the future… best wishes, Jay

Leave a Reply

