I’VE BEEN TO LONDON!

I have been to London!

My immediate thought,  as I just typed out that little line was this…

“Pussy cat, pussy cat where have you been?

I’ve been to London to see the Queen…

Pussy cat, pussy cat, what did you there

I frightened a little mouse, under her chair…”

(some times the last line is sung as…

I chased a little mouse right under her chair)

The origins of the nursery rhyme “Pussycat pussycat”!
The origins of the “Pussycat pussycat” rhyme dates back to the history of 16th century Tudor England. One of the waiting ladies of Queen Elizabeth Ist had an old cat which roamed throughout Windsor castle. On one particular occasion the cat ran beneath the throne where its tail brushed against the Queen’s foot, startling her. Luckily ‘Good Queen Bess’ had a sense of humour and decreed that the cat could wander about the throne room, on condition it kept it free of mice!

I didn’t see the Queen, a cat or a mouse on my visit, but one of the things I did see and really found  absolutely fascinating was a visit to Tower Bridge.  If you are interested in antique – vintage engineering and architecture, and you are in London, I would recommend going on  the tour.  It wasn’t too expensive, unlike  some of the London attractions that have a huge entrance charge.

This is my “mini” report and photos to share with you… it was a terribly overcast day, so sorry that the photo’s are rather dark, typical London Drizzle!

SAM_3901

The view that we come to recognise instantly as Tower Bridge, over the River Thames, London…

SAM_3891

A shot of one of the towers from the embankment.

SAM_3925

I zoomed in on the roof line of the top of one the tower as I hadn’t realised how beautiful the architecture was, it reminded me very much of a church, maybe even with a slight “French” roof line(?) also the gilded delicate finial that sit right on the top of each tower looked bright, even in the dull light, all a little moody and mysterious….

SAM_3902

In the viewing gallery there is a huge expanse of toughened glass inserted into the floor where you can look down on the traffic as it passes across the bridge. I just couldn’t summoned up the courage to walk across it as a majority of the tourists were, I squashed myself right up against the side where the floor was solid…!!!

SAM_3908

One of the many views that you can see looking up and down the Thames. Commercial, Financial district,  including the rather iconic building affectionally known at the “Gherkin”.  Bottom right of this photo is the Tower of London, which I plan to visit during my next trip to London…

SAM_3912

At the base of the tower is housed the engine room, with magnificent, beautifully preserved steam engines used to raise and lower the big road booms to enable shipping to pass in the past.  Now, naturally it is powered by electricity and controlled by computer.

SAM_3922
SAM_3921
SAM_3918SAM_3919]

Huge boiler doors, with values all polished and looking fantastic.

If you want to have a read about the bridge, about the viewing glass floor, the bridge in general… it’s past and present  please go to:- http://www.towerbridge.org.uk

Little note about the River Thames.  There have been numerous references written about the Thames over the many, many years… fact, stories and poems, this one I particularly enjoyed reading…

SAM_3913

Thanks for dropping by, sorry I have been away from my blog for some time now, do hope that I will find some more topics soon that you may be interested in!

Would always be delighted to hear from you should you wish to make a comment…

Best wishes, Jay x

Little extra snippet for you from Snoo….”Bulletproof vests, fire escapes, laser printers, and windshield wipers on cars were all invented by women…”

3 thoughts on “I’VE BEEN TO LONDON!

  1. Hallo there, pleased to have something SO different to read on your blog. The last time I was in London I didn’t see the Queen either, however I did have a very enjoyable day at the Victoria & Albert Museum with my sister, and spent a lovely part of the day sitting in the court yard, having lunch and people watching AND it was a beautiful sunny day. Maxie

Leave a Reply

