SPOTS CAN BE BEAUTIFUL!

I am quite a fan of spots, dots… any thing with a  pin dot on or spotty bit of china, to spotty fabric   I   L-O-V-E   IT   ALL

So decided to use up my bits of  ROWAN FABRIC to make a  JOLLY SPOTTY wall hanging for my hall.  This is what I came up with with another favourite of mine…. appliqué!

I started off with collecting all the bits and bobs of really quite small little snippets of left over fabric. Cutting it into manageable squares approx.  4″ x 4″

SAM_1804

I like a clean edge to my appliqué shapes and I find the best way to achieve this is to use an iron-on VILENE product… these are the weights that work well with craft, patchwork and quilting 100% cotton fabric.

SAM_1805

I decided on a circle approx. 2   1/2″ to 3″ across the diameter, I actually hunted around the house to find some thing to draw around, actually my plastic pot of pins was the perfect size!   Draw out a bunch of circles onto the “fabric” side of the VILENE.  You can tell the difference between sides on close inspection , the slightly “shiny” side is the glue which you want to keep an eye on as you do not want this to stick on your iron.  The “matt” side I think of as the fabric side.  Cut out the circles.

SAM_1808

Remind your self which side of the VILENE is which, then place the “shiny-glue” on the WONGE side of the fabric and gently iron on low heat so the VILENE circle and fabric is bonded together.

SAM_1809

Cut around each circle approx 1/2 inch larger than the VILENE circle.

SAM_1811

Make as many or as few as you wish…. I got a bit carried away and used up all my little ROWAN scraps!

SAM_1810

SAM_1829

Thread a needle with a strong thread (or double up) make  tiny running stitches the complete way around the circle approx.  1/4 inch from the fabric edge, as a guide roughly between the edge of the fabric and the vilene.

SAM_1831

Gently gather the thread so the vilene circle “takes shape” … you may have to tease the fabric/stitches a little to get a good circle look.  Much depends on the fabric chosen, most P&Q fabric works very well, the soft slightly woven fabric is great as it can almost be moulded.  I find stiff fabric or fabric with a close tight weave is difficult to “curve” batik is one I find difficult and try to avoid using with this style of applique.

SAM_1832

Secure with a small stitch.

SAM_1907

Once you have a little stash done, you might wish to lightly press them, I find finger pressing is more than adequate.

Decide on a backing fabric.  Maybe choose some thing without too much pattern other wise you may find the whole piece looks too busy.  Think where you might wish to hang the piece once finished may help your colour choice too!

SAM_4876

I went really neutral (some may say boring!)

SAM_4878

Arrange your spots, pin and tack into place.

With a shortish length of thread just nip the edge of the circle with  tiny slip stitch so you can’t even see it, continue around the whole circle. Repeat with all the other circles.

Once top is complete cut a piece of wadding (Americans call it batting) and backing fabric slightly larger than the piece.  Make a sandwich …. TOP appliqued piece, MIDDLE wadding and BACK (right side facing out) backing.

Quilt as much or as little as you want either by machine or by hand.  I chose by hand as the piece was quite small and could be handled easily. Bigger projects might be better to tackle using a sewing machine.  Or, you could always use a quilting service, there are plenty if you research.  If you find one who has a Gammel Long Armed Quilting machine thats a sign they are  serious about their craft.

Trim off the excess.

Finish the quilt by binding.  I like to double bind.  Cut a strip of fabric long enough to go around all four sides of your quilt.  You most likely have to join.  I find the best method to reduce bulk is to cut/stitch on the cross. Or, as I have done, four separate lengths. As this project is small and going to be hanging on the wall I decided not to cut the binding on the bias, as quite often is recommended.  Several reason why I didn’t.  Using up fabric I had. Knowing the quilt is going to remain still and in position on the wall rather than being “used” on the bed so no movement is involved.  And, I’m breaking the rules!

Stitch on the right side, fold over the edge and catch with tiny slip stitches.

Add a “sleeve” on the back of the quilt.  Easy to make, basically a tube wide enough to thread a length of dowel through.

Et voila!

Jay x

Little extra snippet for you from Snoo   “…there isn’t a word that rhymes with purple…”

OOOPs… Sorry, Just realised I’ve not added all the photo’s for this blog… will add them later, please pop back to have a look at the finished project…

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “SPOTS CAN BE BEAUTIFUL!

  1. I have a word that rhymes with ‘purple’ flurple! Very nice post and they look like a lot of fun to make!

  2. I will look forward to seeing the finished product. What small stitches. I like all the different colours. Maxie

Leave a Reply

