LONG LIVE WELLINGTON BOOTS!

Not so long ago, I guess it could have been around Christmas I bought my self a new pair of wellington boots… An essential bit of foot wear when you have a dog and it’s winter! I suppose I do wear them for a couple of hours most days so they do get worn, but I had thought I’d get at least a winter out of them.  They were “mid” priced so did expect them to last a bit longer.

SAM_5093

I was really upset to see  the back seam on both boots has split apart, the foot part is fine and water tight.  With down turned mouth,  (hate waste!)  I was just about to toss them in the dust bin when I thought  “wait a moment” I have an idea… bit of a light bulb moment actually!

SAM_5096

Let me share with you the life of a lifeless (so I thought) pair of wellies…

SAM_5094

Kicking them off in the garden after discovering the splits

SAM_5095

The splits

SAM_5097

Getting out my scissors and cutting… and shaping…

SAM_5098

Scrubbing and pulling out the old baggy  inner…

SAM_5099

New pair of inner socks

SAM_5101SAM_5103

Voila’!

They are perfect for keeping by the back door and slipping my feet in when I either nip to the dust bin, or popping the washing on the line when the lawn is wet, and taking the dog for a walk in the very muddy park. Of course, going for a paddle in the river or sea might not be great with these guys on your feet as they would soon fill up over the bulkheads!

SAM_5104

I  have no particular rush to go buy a new pair of wellies now, I will invest in a tall pair soon  for those occasions  when “me and the doggie”  do want to splash through deep water, would be such a shame to miss out on those walks just because I only have a pair of “short” wellies!!

Bye for now, please send me a comment, especially if you feel like telling me I am a little bonkers!

Jay xxx

Little extra snippet for you from Snoo “…seeing somebody smile actually makes you happier…”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “LONG LIVE WELLINGTON BOOTS!

  1. Wonderful inspiration and certainly not bonkers. You have made full use of something that would otherwise have been thrown out. Wellington done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

